Webmail Frequently Asked Questions
Having trouble sending or receiving emails?
If you are logging into your eircom.net account via a 3rd party app such as Outlook/WindowsLive Mail or Apple Mail and your ability to either send or receive has been restricted this may be because you have not signed up for the monthly subscription service. You will need to log in via the eir webmail portal at www.eir.ie/email to sign up and for normal service to resume.
If you do not remember your password you may have to change it to gain access. When changing your password it is important that you update on all devices/apps that you use to access your account, as if there is an incorrect password auto-populating this can cause your account to be locked out for a period of time.
Why are eir charging for Webmail?
In order to provide a better service we will charge €5.99 from 1st July.
Reset/Change Webmail Password
Visit our forgotten password page https://autoreg.eir.ie/passwordchange/
What is the eir webmail usage policy?
Please visit www.eir.ie/policy to view our webmail usage policy.
How much is it?
The charge for the use of webmail is €5.99 per calendar month.
What is the contract length?
The contract length is one month.
How do I sign up?
From the 1st July eir will begin to migrate webmail users across to the new paid service, in order to sign up you will need to wait for eir to migrate your account.
This will be done over the first two weeks of July from the 1st of July to the 14th July 2020. Once eir migrates your account you will have to log in to your webmail account through eir.ie/email and enter your payment details. In order to sign up you will need an Irish mobile number and normally live in the Republic of Ireland.
eir webmail is available for non commercial customers only. Once you enter your payment details you will be able to access your new account to send and receive emails. Please note it may take up to 2 hours for your old emails to move across to the new account.
*Migrate or migration is the process of moving your emails and data from your old account to your new account.
What credit cards can be used?
Visa / Mastercard / Revolut.
How do I close or delete an email account?
This will be done automatically by eir if you do not sign up for the new payment solution, or if you have signed up for the new payment solution you can cancel through your account management page in your email account. Please note there will be no refund issued upon termination.
What access to my old emails will I have if I close / delete?
None, once your account is deleted your emails will be deleted. So please ensure you move all data you wish to continue to access before it is deleted.
What happens to my email address if I don’t sign up?
We will hold your emails and email address for a further 60 days after you are locked out before permanently deleting all your emails and the email address. Please remember your login and passwords.
Can I get my emails from eir redirected to my new email address if I go to another provider?
No, your email address will be deleted.
I can't access my email, why has my webmail been suspended?
In most cases your email will be suspended if you have not signed up for payment or have missed a payment.
It can also be suspended If you cancel your account or
If you break our Webmail usage policy.
Why has my webmail been deleted?
Firstly your email address is suspended because:
- You haven't signed up to the new paid service.
- You have missed a payment.
- You have broken our usage policy
Once suspended, you'll have 60 days to reactivate it and regain access to all your email messages and personal data.
Your email address is generally deleted because:
- You haven't recovered access to it within 60 days of suspension
- You or the eir ID account holder has cancelled it on your account management page.
Once we delete an email address, all of your email messages and personal data will also be deleted and can't be recovered.
It's important to note that email addresses:
- Can only be recovered by the eir ID account holder
- Must be recovered within 60 days of suspension by us or cancellation by the account holder
- Will be permanently deleted after 60 days without further notice
When will payment be taken?
Payment will be taken from your selected card in the middle of the month. Upon successful payment, your access to eir email will be auto-renewed for another month.